KUALA LUMPUR, Malaysia, Sept. 22, 2014 – “Team Hacktivist” won the US$10,000 grand prize at AT&T/MCMC 2014 Malaysia Developers’ Day ASEAN Edition on Friday night. The team received the title for the app creation during the 24-hour application development contest.

The winning app, called “Enact,” is a charity app connecting corporate sponsorship with consumer’s charity based on the idea of ALS ice bucket challenge. “Team Hacktivist” also won the Best App for Community Involvement category and a US$1,000 prize.

Organizers Jake Jennings, Executive Director of International External and Regulatory Affairs of AT&T* (left), Dato’ Sri Ahmad Shabery Cheek, Minister of Communications and Multimedia (second left) and Dato' Mohamed Sharil Mohamed Tarmizi, Chairman of the Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC) (right), presented the award at the KL Converge! Gala Dinner on Friday.

The event took place on Sept. 17-19 and drew more than 120 contestants from all over Asia, including the Philippines, Indonesia and India.

In addition to the grand prize winners, the following teams and members took home prizes out of the 21 participating teams and 21 apps developed at the event:

  • Best app for Community Involvement  – Team Hacktivist (Lim Wei Jun, Karmen Koh, Francis Pang, Chew Chit Siang and Tan Zheng Ying) for “Enact”
  • Best app for Smart City – Team Accordia Global (Bernard Yeong, Filipino Felix Rigor II, Teik Hua Oscar) for “ARMS”
  • Best app for Commercialization – Team Pocket Events (Nikolai Prettner, Kendrick Wong, Chew Weng Chuen, Lau Cher Han and Goh Hoo Wan) for “Pocket Events”

AT&T and MCMC co-hosted the event and opened it up to 14 ASEAN and ASEAN Dialogue Partner countries**.  Participants received access to tools, knowledge and mentor support to build powerful apps within a very tight time-frame.

*AT&T products and services are provided or offered by subsidiaries and affiliates of AT&T Inc. under the AT&T brand and not by AT&T Inc.

**Participation includes developers from ASEAN countries - Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam, as well as ASEAN’s dialogue partners – mainland China, India, Japan and Republic of Korea.